Classics Club Spin #10

Perhaps without the Classics Club I wouldn’t get on this blog at all. Another spin coming up on Monday, August 24 and I’m submitting the list below.  I’m looking forward to reading all of them and need a break from my mysteries (which I love too, but aren’t in the same category as these books).

  1. The Hunchback of Notre-Dame – Victor Hugo
  2. Ivanhoe – Sir Walter Scott
  3. The Mysterious Island – Jules Verne
  4. Return of the Native – Thomas Hardy
  5. Lord of the Flies – William Golding
  6. Little Men – Louisa May Alcott
  7. Winesburg, Ohio – Sherwood Anderson
  8. Go Tell It on a Mountain – James Baldwin
  9. The Man Who Knew Too Much – G. K. Chesterton
  10. The Awakening – Kate Chopin
  11. The Deerslayer – James Fennimore Coooper
  12. Robinson Crusoe – Daniel Defoe
  13. Mill on the Floss – George Eliot
  14. Invisible Man – Ralph Ellison
  15. A Passage to India – E. M. Forster
  16. The Sun Also Rises – Ernest Hemingway
  17. Native Son – Richard Wright
  18. The Aeneid – Virgil
  19. The Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde
  20. All Quiet on the Western Front – Erich Maria Remarque

I have three books I must read by September 4th, so I probably won’t start my spin pick until then.

This entry was posted in Challenges, Classics Club and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Classics Club Spin #10

  1. All Quiet on the Western Front is one of my favorite books. And Invisible Man is great as well. Good luck with your spin!

  2. Karen K. says:

    Great mix of books on your list! I have Hunchback and Return of the Native on my list as well!! From the rest of your list, I think The Awakening is my favorite. I hope you get a good pick!

  3. Those are all fabulous! (OK, I’m not a Cooper fan. So not that one.) Excited to see how this goes, I love Spins.

  4. Brona says:

    I’ve read Little Women, Mill on the Floss and A Passage to India. All very different, but very satisfying reads.

    We share Dorian Grey this spin:-)

  5. Ooo, I love Chesterton and I haven’t read that one yet. The Aeneid is wonderful but it might be one that you’re dreading ……? In any case, I hope you have a wonderful spin!

  6. Donna says:

    oh good…a shortsh one. Lord of the Flies.

Leave a comment