I’m back…

Jordan Slam Dunk Competition7 Feb 1988: Michael Jordan    Mandatory copyright notice and Credit: Copyright 2001 NBAE Mandatory Credit: Andrew D. Bernstein/NBAE/Getty Images

In the words of the great Michael Jordan, “I’m back.”

More books to discuss, more mysteries to explore.

I’m back for the Classics Club.  I’m back for Gold and Silver Vintage Mysteries.  I’m back for the Read Harder Challenge.

In the time I’ve been away from blogging I’ve picked up some new interests including a six-quarter course on Ancient Rome.  I’ve been reading Livy and Cicero and trying to determine how the ancient philosophers speak to contemporary issues.  As a start, I’d suggest reading Cicero’s “On Friendship.”  You’d might want to compare it to the discussion of friendship in Aristotle’s “Nichomachean Ethics.” Both ancient works have a lot to say to us today, but I would admit that Cicero is much easier to read.

Give some of the ancients a try, you might really enjoy reading them.  And how much fun it will be when the next time you are out drinking with friends you can drop into your conversation, “Well, when I was reading Cicero last night he said….”  OK, you’ll get just as many eye rolls as I got when I said in conversation, “The last time I studied Hamlet….” Embrace your inner nerd!

Cicero on Friendship

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment