Classic Books and Classic Authors

Have you ever read a biography on a classic author? If so, tell us about it. If you had already read works by this author, did reading a biography of his/her life change your perspective on the author’s writing? Why or why not? // Or, if you’ve never read a biography of a classic author, would you? Why or why not?

After a detailed look at my Goodreads account, I realize I have never read a biography of a classic author.  I have learned quite a bit about the life of Charles Dickens, however, and I think that will be the author whose biography I will read.  I’ve just placed a library hold on Charles Dickens: A Life by Claire Tomalin.

Charles Dickens

I know that Dickens’ early life is revealed, somewhat, in David Copperfield.  I know his father was imprisoned at Marshallsea for debt.  I know he left his first wife for an actress.  What I want to know is whether the social justice questions he reveals in his novels (bad schools, debtor’s prison, complicated legal system) were ever causes he promoted in his real life.

I’m looking forward to reading this.

 

While keeping the same blog name, I have moved my blog from Blogger to WordPress.  I invite you to follow me at this new location.  scrambledbooks.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Classics Club. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Classic Books and Classic Authors

  1. Fanda says:

    I have read Tomlin’s biography too, but on Nelly Ternan (The Invisible Woman), instead of Dickens. It’s very interesting to know part of the real Dickens behind his books.

  2. Donna says:

    Book arrived today. 417 pages! I’m sure I’ll know more about Dickens when I’m through.

  3. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review says:

    I enjoyed Claire Tomalin’s biography of Jane Austen last year. I’m sure you’ll learn a lot about Dickens — let us know what you think.

Leave a comment